Raia logojpg thumb2

Australian Institute of Architects (RAIA)

The Australian Institute of Architects is the primary professional body which represents the interests of architects in Australia.  It is a national body consisting of almost 10,000 members across Australia and overseas.  The Institute was formed in 1930 when state architectural Institutes combined to form a unified national association with the following aims:

  • To advance architecture
  • To maintain the integrity and standing of the profession
  • To promote the profession's views nationally and internationally, and
  • To encourage the study of architecture

All Terroir Directors are members of the RAIA as are a number of staff.  Further, Terroir is a regular contributor to the activities of the RAIA as follows:

  • Gerard Reinmuth was selected as a  Juror in the 2007 National RAIA Awards and also a Juror for the 2006 National RAIA Student Awards
  • Richard Blythe is a Member, former Councilor and current Chair of National Education Committee of the RAIA
  • Scott Balmforth was the chair of the RAIA (Tas Chapter) Built Environment Education Committee (Chair) 1997-2000, he is also a councilor in the Tasmanian Chapter and was a member of the Tasmanian Awards Jury in 2000